EC proposes a European Travel Information and Authorisation System

(VOVworld)- The European Commission has proposed to establish a European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) to strengthen security checks on visa-free travelers. If approved, the system will facilitate travel and help agencies ensure security in Europe.
EC proposes a European Travel Information and Authorisation System - ảnh 1

The proposal follows an announcement in September by EC President Jean Claude Juncker in his 2016 State of the Union address, and is a first deliverable of the priorities for action identified in the Bratislava Roadmap. The ETIAS will gather information on all individuals travelling visa-free to the European Union to allow for advance irregular migration and security checks. This will contribute to a more efficient management of the EU's external borders and improve internal security, at the same time facilitating legal travel across Schengen borders.

The EC’s first Vice-President Frans Timmermans said that securing borders and protecting citizens is Europe’s first priority. The ETIAS is therefore an important step towards stronger and smarter information systems for border and security.  The ETIAS will be managed by the European Border and Coast Guard in close cooperation with the competent authorities of the member states and Europol.

Migration and Home Affairs Commissioner Dimitris Avramopoulos said that ETIAS is the missing link in the EU’s border management, connecting the dots with migration and security policies and enhancing Schengen entry for at least 95% of visa-free travelers.

The ETIAS authorisation is not a visa; it is a lighter and more visitor-friendly regime. Nationals of visa liberalisation countries will still be able to travel without a visa but will have to obtain a simple travel authorisation prior to their travel to the Schengen Area. If the system is put into operation, travelers within the Schengen Area need to pay an application fee of 5 euro for multiple visas for a 5-year period. The European Commission hopes the system will be put into operation by 2020. Before that, it needs approval of 28 EU members and the European Parliament.

At present, citizens of 60 countries and territories around the world can enter the Schengen Area without a visa - from the US, Canada, Australia, Japan, Brazil, Chile, and Argentina.