CLMV 8, ACMECS 7 issue joint statement

(VOVworld) – The 8th Cambodia-Laos-Myanmar-Vietnam Summit (CLMV 8) issued a joint statement on Wednesday, reaffirming their determination by leaders of the 4 countries to enhance cooperation for the peace, stability, and prosperity of the sub-region and narrow the development gap with other ASEAN members.

The 17-point statement highlighted CLMV’s core mission as a platform for fostering close policy coordination and joint action between the four countries to ensure a future of peace, stability and prosperity. The key objectives of CLMV cooperation continue to be: (i) to support the development of the ASEAN Community through building CLMV’s regional integration capacity and bridging the development gap within ASEAN; (ii) to fully harness member countries’ economic potential and increase trade and investment flows within and among CLMV countries and other regions; (iii) to achieve sustainable and inclusive development in the sub-region. Leaders of the 4 countries said they were optimistic about future cooperation and well aware of the many challenges faced by CLMV countries. Priority for cooperation are given to transport, trade, investment, industry, tourism, human resource development, agriculture, and energy toward a seamless regional economy so as to link the four economies and markets ever closer together for the benefits of all.

The Summit agreed that Cambodia will host the CLMV 9.

CLMV 8, ACMECS 7 issue joint statement - ảnh 1
7th Ayeyawady – Chao Phraya – Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS 7) Summit in Hanoi
(Photo: VOV)

Also that day, the 7th Ayeyawady – Chao Phraya – Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy (ACMECS 7) Summit adopted the Hanoi Declaration. It hailed achievements since the establishment of ACMECS and committed to future cooperation plans to work for stronger regional connectivity and sustainable development. Leaders reaffirmed their commitment to work together towards green and sustainable development in the region and emphasized the significance of achieving goals and targets set in the UN Agenda for Sustainable Development Goals 2030. They showed their determination to strengthen cooperation in the development of ACMECS smart agriculture, effective environmental protection, sustainable natural resources management, and the efficient utilization of energy. They will strengthen ACMECS’s collaboration with the Mekong River Commission and other regional mechanisms to jointly manage water resources for sustainable management, development, utilization, and the conservation of trans-boundary water and related resources.

The Hanoi Declaration welcomed the success of the first World Economic Forum (WEF) on the Mekong region, which was initiated and organized by Viet Nam to highlight the great potential of the Mekong region to the international business community. It emphasized the need to strengthen public-private partnerships to realize the vision of a competitive, integrated and prosperous Mekong region.

The ACMECS 8 will be hosted by Thailand.

Related News