Countries cooperate on nuclear security

(VOVworld) - The fourth Nuclear Security Summit took place in Washington D.C, the US, on April 1, with leaders of 52 countries and organizations attending. The summit aimed to strengthen political will and coordinated actions among countries to ensure nuclear security and safety and prevent nuclear terrorist attacks. The delegates discussed threats to nuclear security, actions of countries to reinforce nuclear security, institutional measures, and international actions to strengthen nuclear security.  The world leaders issued a joint statement affirming their commitment to prevent nuclear weapons from falling into the hands of extremists.

Countries cooperate on nuclear security  - ảnh 1
Deputy Prime Minister Pham Binh Minh

In his address, Vietnamese Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Pham Binh Minh said that terrorism, particularly nuclear terrorism, and the proliferation of nuclear weapons have threatened global peace, security, and the legitimate rights of countries using nuclear power for development. He said Vietnam strongly supports the summit’s Statement and Action Plan and appealed for information sharing among countries in the fight against nuclear terrorism and strengthening nuclear security in line with national and international laws.

Countries cooperate on nuclear security  - ảnh 2
The Nuclear Security Summit in Washington D.C, the US.

He introduced Vietnam’s consistent policies to support comprehensive disarmament and non-proliferation of nuclear weapons. Vietnam has engaged in almost all international conventions on disarmament and non-proliferation of nuclear weapons. Vietnam is preparing to join the International Convention on preventing nuclear terrorist attacks. Vietnam will continue to support safe and secured development of nuclear technology, including nuclear electricity.

On the sideline of the summit, Deputy Prime Minister Pham Binh Minh held talks with Chinese President Xi Jinping, Swiss President Johann Schneider-Ammann, Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Australian Foreign Minister Julie Bishop, and Romanian Foreign Minister lazar Comanescu.
Related News