Countries to boost measures to stop COVID-19

(VOVWORLD) -President Donald Trump announced Friday he's declaring a national emergency to deal with the coronavirus crisis as cases increase alarmingly and criticism mounts over how he's responding to the situation. 

President Trump said to allow 50 billion USD to tackle the coronavirus pandemic in the United States. As of Friday midday, 1,920 Americans have contracted COVID-19, the disease caused by the novel coronavirus, across 46 states, and 41 have died.

Ukraine will close its borders for foreign citizens for two weeks to prevent the spread of coronavirus on March 15, 48 hours after the National Security Council announced the measure at 3 pm on March 13. The ban will last until March 29.

Denmark, Austria, Poland and Cyprus on Friday announced to close their border to all tourists in order to stop the spread of coronavirus.

Switzerland, Luxembourg and Germany have become the latest European countries to close their schools in a desperate bid to halt the spread of coronavirus.