Vietnam suspends visa exemption for 8 European nations

(VOVWORLD) - Vietnam will suspend the visa waiver for eight European countries starting Thursday, amid growing concerns about the novel coronavirus outbreak. 
Vietnam suspends visa exemption for 8 European nations - ảnh 1Illustrative image (Source: VNA) 

The National Steering Committee on Covid-19 Prevention and Control announced at a meeting on Wednesday that the decision to temporarily cancel visa-free travel for citizens of Denmark, Norway, Finland, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Germany, France and Spain.

The Committee came up with the decision after analyzing the situation of the Covid-19 in Europe, epidemic checks at borders, entry and exit people, and quarantine of people from epidemic affected areas.

Deputy Prime Minister Vu Duc Dam stressed that all people entering Vietnam has to fill in health declarations. Cheating will be strictly punished by Vietnamese law.

The Committee agreed on a rule that all passengers must wear face masks on the plane and at the airports. Transit passengers are encouraged to stay in transit area and not to enter Vietnam. Suspected people will be refused to enter Vietnam.