8 African countries confirm monkeypox cases

(VOVWORLD) - Monkeypox has been confirmed in 8 African countries, said the WHO Regional Director for Africa at a virtual press briefing on Friday.
8 African countries confirm monkeypox cases - ảnh 1A doctor treats monkeypox patients in Zomea Kaka, the Republic of Congo. (Photo: AFP/VNA)

Nigeria reported the biggest number with 36 cases. Other countries have confirmed less than 10 cases are the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Central African Republic, Benin, Cameroon, the Republic of the Congo, Ghana, and Morocco. There were suspected cases in Ethiopia, Guinea, Liberia, Mozambique, Sierra Leone, Sudan, and Uganda.

WHO said there are now a total of 1,600 confirmed cases and 1,500 suspected cases in 39 countries across the globe. 7 countries of them have reported monkeypox for many years, while 32 countries reported the disease for the first time. Most of the infections are in Europe.

WHO will convene an Emergency Committee meeting next week to advise on whether the current spread of monkeypox in non-endemic countries constitutes a public health emergency of international concern.
Related News